Old Travels: Barcelona

Barcelona is without a doubt, one of my favourite cities in the world. It’s unfortunate I’ve only just started blogging, otherwise i’d provide huge day to day extensive coverage on what I did but unfortunately it’s been a while since I went.

Everything about this city feels so..authentic. Chris and I walked through the gothic quarter at least 5 times, and every time I noticed something a little bit different. Filled with cobbles, mismatching stones, trickling fountains and gothic gargoyles, each step was magical!

The food in Barcelona was fairly incredible. On every street the scent of fragrant paella wafting through the streets as people dined under clear marquees was unavoidable. I experienced my first tapas, which I was thoroughly impressed with. My favourite was definitely the patatas bravas- a smoky potato dish. Chris and I both thoroughly recommend the restaurant El Viejo POP, we tried tapas and paella here and both were incredible! On a serious note- don’t try to have a tapas mixer and a paella each, they’re way too big! Overall food was amazing and I won’t forget mention the endless amounts of sangria that was consumed between the two of us; it was perfect for the slightly warmer weather (warmer than England anyway)!

On our last full day there, we visited the Zoo. Barcelona Zoo is the largest in the world, and believe me- it takes up a whole day walking around to see everything! From birds to monkeys to (my personal favorite) the tigers, Barcelona Zoo really does have every imaginable beastie resident, making it a great day for everyone to catch a glimpse of their favourite animal. Just don’t forget to bring plenty of water and wear sensible shoes, it gets really warm around midday.

Lastly, I’d like to briefly mention the architecture in Barcelona. The city is full of incredible pieces by so many different architects giving many sights to explore! Underneath I’ve put up a picture of La Sagrada Familia, one of the most famous churches in the world. It’s ridiculously tall and you can’t enter it because it’s continually growing and growing! It looks almost like stalagmites and tites touching each other from the ground and the sky. That being said, its definitely worth a visit.

That’s all for now, Till Next time!

Mintytiger xoxo

Leave a comment